Connect The Future Statement on FCC and NTIA Nominations

October 27, 2021

Connect the Future (CTF) congratulates Jessica Rosenworcel, Gigi Sohn, and Alan Davidson on their respective nominations to serve at the Federal Communications Commission (FCC) and National Telecommunications and Information Administration (NTIA). 

We look forward to their continued leadership in bridging the digital divide and urge them to ensure that the impact of every federal dollar invested in broadband infrastructure is maximized by modernizing utility pole rules. 

Today, an outdated process for attaching broadband infrastructure to poles is slowing or even preventing access for millions of families, particularly in rural America. To make broadband deployment faster and more efficient, it’s time for federal policymakers to update and clarify pole attachment rules to ensure timely access, fair cost-sharing, and expedited dispute resolution between pole owners and pole attachers.